RSS Feed

Your perfect life?

So I have been deliberating and mulling over what I am going to write in my first blog post. You see, I am a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to life and of course I have been searching for the perfect thought, the perfect article or just the perfect time, to post something meaningful, thought provoking and inspirational. Something PERFECT! However, in my search for perfectionism I had a thought. What if it is this very search for perfectionism that actually holds me back from setting out to do the things that I want to do? How many times do I tell myself that I just need to research a little more, or think a little more or talk to a few more people, before I actually act? How much does this procrastination actually COST me?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that procrastination can’t sometimes be a good thing. Before you start on something new, it is often good to be strategic: plan a little, think a little and know what you want to achieve. However, don’t let the planning stage become bigger than the actual event. You see, so many of us have so many great ideas. Especially us women. We are used to multitasking and thinking of many options for a situation. But sometimes our propensity for “doing” can get in the way of “actioning”. You see, there is a difference. Doing requires just doing all of the things on your list whereas actioning is actually moving yourself towards something purposeful; something that is on your goal plan for your life and involves your happiness, fulfilment or success. Sure it feels good to finally get all the laundry up to date, or to tackle that large basket of ironing. But will these things change your life in the long run? Unless you are writing a book on the most efficient way to iron a shirt, then my guess is no.

So the question then becomes, how many things on your “to do” list actually involve your goals and aspirations for your life? How many are moving you towards your long term goals? Do you even have a list? Do you even have a goal? Knowing what you want to achieve is the first step to actually achieving it, but it’s also usually the first failure. If someone asked you for directions to your house, could you write them down accurately? Probably you could. If someone asked you for directions to your fabulous life, your ultimate self, could you write them down accurately? For most of you, probably you could not. If asked to, many of us could picture our dream home; what it would look like, where it would be, how big a garden it would have and how we would feel if we lived there. We live in our home every day, and through the trial and error of living and raising a family, we know what we would like to keep and what we would like to change. What was working, and what wasn’t. What if you could make your life and dreams like this too? That’s the funny thing about actually doing something and living it. You soon understand inductively, the successes and the failures. What you need to keep to move forward productively, and what you need to change. It’s how I moved from being a stay at home mum, to a successful business owner and entrepreneur (and even managed to have a fourth child whilst growing my first business). It’s why I wanted to start this blog.

Women and mothers ask me on a daily basis, how I manage to do it. Own businesses and have a large family. So I decided to start sharing my secrets to success, so that maybe I can inspire and help other women and mothers to do the same. Why Lipgloss Entrepreneurs?  Because I believe that it is important to take care of yourself – the whole package (and lipstick is soooo outdated ;-))  A manicure every two weeks?  Yes please.  Regular exfoliations and massages?  If you insist.  Make up applied every day?  All righty then!  I want to inspire other women to realise that you CAN have it all, despite what Cherie Blair says (she says you can’t).

Please feel free to respond with any questions and feedback.  What would you like to see on this blog?  What do you struggle with on a daily basis?  What would you like to change in your life?  Maybe I can help 🙂

In love and success

Kim x

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

5 responses »

  1. Carole McCarthy

    OMG you are already the busiest woman in the world – how on earth have you found time to now start this blog??? You are definitely doing something right! At the minute I have no inspired words of wisdom for you, but if any do come to me, I will share! xxx

    Reply
  2. Nice one Kim – you have endless energy and love of life so it’s good to share this with others! If nothing else it will brighten up someone’s dreary day, we all have them!

    Reply
  3. A lovely comment from a friend of mine by email…

    Well done I have just read your blog and it’s fantastic. I read a lot of books and set myself goals some I achieve and some are a work in progress. However one of my current goal is to work from home and still be there when the kids come home from school and be able to help them with their homework etc. I come up with good ideas for friends of mine but have not managed to pinpoint something for myself yet that I would be interested in but have no doubt it will happen at the right time for me. Sometimes in life the busier you are the more you achieve and I know this from previous jobs, moving internationally with a small baby and cooking a speciality diet to cure an illness for my husband. We all need goals as without them I get discontented and bored with my life. Maybe you could put a bit on your blog on how to set goals as most people do not know how to.

    Will definately keep an eye on your blog and pass it on to friends of mine. Good on you and keep up the good positive work.

    Reply
  4. i want specifics of what goes on with raising your children, the issues that have come up and how you’ve coped with them so that i may learn in turn and be “ready” hehe. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

