RSS Feed

Take 10 minutes of reflection for amazing results

Recently I read an article about Katie Price having regrets about her parenting, despite winning a Celeb Mum of the Year Award and it got me thinking about being a mother and having regrets.  Sometimes I look at my children and pray to God that I am not messing them up with my parenting.  They are such expressive, joyful, happy little people who see the good in every situation, and can make anything into a game.

It also got me thinking about how many of my goals actually involve the kind of parent I want to be.  You see I am the queen of goal setting and systems organisation (I didn’t used to be this way!).  And although of course many of us have a system for “managing” our children, such as taking them to their tennis or piano lessons, making sure their clothes are clean and their meals freshly prepared, how many of us have ever actually sat down and decided on the kind of parent we wanted to be  and mindfully set about pursuing it?

I once read a quote by His Holiness the Dalai Lama which, in essence said that if we took ten minutes at the start of every day to reflect on the kind of person we wanted to be that day, then another ten minutes at the end of the day to evaluate how close we had come, the world might indeed be a much better place.  It really got me thinking and it’s something that I have practiced every day now, for a long time.  I call it my “10 minutes of reflection”.

How often have you scolded your child or spoken to them harshly for something they did, that you reacted in anger to?  How many times have you felt bad later on, after you had calmed down, and taken them on your knee to try to say sorry and make the situation right?  With 10 minutes of reflection, you can proactively decide how to deal with situations that arise, and feel better within yourself that you are upholding the kind of parent you want to be.

This technique also works well for something you want for yourself.  When you have a goal that you are working towards, and you take ten minutes at the start of each day to commit to and visualise achieving this goal,  your life can improve dramatically.  What strategies do you use to achieve your dreams and realise your goals?  How do you commit to better parenting in your life?  I’d love to hear your feedback and comments.

With love
Kim

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Great post Kim! I totally agree with this and I call it my quiet time where I pray and think about the day ahead, almost visualising it. When I’ve done that I feel like I’m not just sauntering through the day but have more purpose and can be a more pro-active parent rather than a reactive one! Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

