RSS Feed

Are you living your dreams, or someone else’s?

Are you living your dreams, or someone else’s?

When I had my first child, I was astounded at just how much time he took up.  I remember lamenting to my sister on the phone one day, how difficult it was to get out of the house by 10am with two young children in tow.  She literally laughed out loud as she had been back at work since her second child was three months old, and quite adequately managed to get them out the door and off to the childminder by 8am in the morning.  I remember feeling slightly offended, as I really did believe that I had a pretty tough time of it in the morning.  But it also made me stop and think.  If she can do it, why can’t I?  What did she have that I didn’t?  Why was she doing that I wasn’t?

The difference between she and I was that she had a purpose; a reason to be out the door by 8am and it really got me thinking about my own purpose and lack thereof.  Before I became a stay at home mum, I used to get up for work every day and have a purpose in my life.  But the problem was that the work I was doing wasn’t fulfilling MY ambitions or MY dreams, they were fulfilling someone else’s.

I have a mind that requires stimulation and challenge.  I enjoy putting forth effort and achieving a result.  I’m an active, energetic kind of person and I really felt that as much as I loved my baby, there had to be more than this.  And herein lies the eternal struggle of many mothers:  we love our children and hate to be parted from them.  Nothing can prepare you for that all consuming love that comes with the birth of your baby, but we know we want something more than this.  We can’t bear the thought of leaving them and returning to work…. But the thought of staying here day in day out, doing the same thing over and over, is mind numbing. What to do, oh what to do?

I’m one of the lucky ones.  I’ve learned in the years since I became a mother that there is another way.  With a little passion coupled with hard work and determination (which let’s face it, we women are not short of), you can have what you want.

What are your goals, dreams and aspirations?  And what stops you from going after them?

Spend your time living your fulfilling your own dreams, or you will end up fulfilling someone else’s

Start now.  Take the first step today.  Be bold.  Create the magic!

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

2 responses »

  1. Lovely darling and so true. I really admire you with four kids and living your dream. xxxx

    Reply
    • Aw thank you Juliana. That really means a lot to me, coming from another amazingly inspirational mother. If I even do half as good a job with my lot as you did with Mark, I’ll be a happy bunny! xoxo

      Reply

Leave a Reply

