RSS Feed

Savour Your Moments For Soon They Will Be Gone

Savour Your Moments For Soon They Will Be Gone

Today I had a wonderful day.  My husband and I have a huge garden and we also love to entertain.

Today the sun was shining and the weather was warm so we decided to host one of our, not uncommon, family and friend get togethers in our back yard.  There were about 25 people in total and it was marvellous.  The barbecue was lit, the kids played soccer, the females shared care of the babies and put the world to right, while the men stood around the barbecue discussing rugby (or lack thereof due to there being technical difficulties with the match today).

At one point I dashed into the kitchen to retrieve a spoon for the onions, and while I was there I caught sight of the party in the garden through the big window.  And do you know for a second, it took my breath away.  At that moment, I realised that I had been part of the party for the past couple of hours, but not really been present enough to enjoy it.  I had been so busy running around taking care of everyone (making sure drinks were topped up, food was prepared, everyone had a seat etc) that up until that moment I hadn’t truly appreciated this particular gathering.  My nearest and dearest were all present in one place, chatting and laughing and having fun, and I had forgotten to appreciate their company.  Forgotten to appreciate their laughter. Forgotten to appreciate them.

Sometimes I am reminded just how precious life is and how fast it passes by.  I often find that I am so busy worrying about tomorrow, or next week, or next year that I forget to appreciate right now.  Or sometimes I’m so busy in my moments, that I forget to stop and take stock of what is happening, and be thankful for it.

My youngest and last baby is five months old already, and it has passed in the blink of an eye.  Never again will I hold my newborn in my arms and gently kiss his closed eyelids.  Never again will I press my tiny baby’s body up against mine, to soothe him to sleep in bed.  Very soon my oldest child will not want to snuggle me anymore.  My baby girl will think I’m totally not cool, and my second boy will stop wanting to put his hand on the skin on my chest for comfort, when he is feeling tired.

Time passes so quickly so remember to enjoy your moments.  Savour them, hold them and cherish them for soon they will be gone and we will be old.

I’ll leave you with a quote from a very wise man His Holiness the Dalai Lama.  Enjoy your weekend. x

The Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him most about humanity, answered:

“Man…. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.  Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health.   And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future but lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Your Life: A Sparkly String Of Fairy Lights? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

  2. Pingback: Your Life: A Sparkly String Of Fairy Lights? | Kim Constable.com Your Life: A Sparkly String Of Fairy Lights? |

Leave a Reply

