RSS Feed

How much is your time worth?

How much is your time worth?

The problem with us women is that we are so bloomin marvellous at multi tasking, we don’t know when to stop.  So when we want to get on a fitness program, or lose weight, or take up a new cooking class, or go back to college, or start a new business, we don’t know how to restructure our current lives to fit it all in.  We take on the new project and ultimately something else has to give to accommodate it, which usually brings on an attack of the female guilts.

Soon we begin hearing “You’re never here anymore” or “We used to spend time together”, or “Mummy I just want to spend time with you”. Then our conscience starts beating us up “You’re a bad mother/wife/sister/friend”, “You should be spending more time with the kids/husband/family/girlfriends” or worse, “Going to the gym isn’t that important.  What do you want to be thin for anyway?”

In fact, no one in our immediate family or friends could ever emotionally beat us with the severity that we beat ourselves.  We are our own worst taskmasters.

But wouldn’t it be good if you could find a system by which you could plug in information and have it give you a formula to manage your life with the effectiveness of a multimillion dollar CEO?

I have so many women ask me how on earth I manage to fit so much into my life.  So this week, I decided to share some of my formulas of success and give you a different strategy to use every day, to help to make positive changes.

STRATEGY 1 – FIGURE OUT WHAT YOUR TIME IS WORTH

Do you actually know what your time is worth?  Have you ever considered how much it would cost to replace you on the open market?  Imagine the job description:

Woman required to work

Duties include: Washing, cooking, cleaning, chauffeur, nurse, occasional hairdresser, nursery assistant, teaching, home works and general dogsbody

Hours: 24 hours per day, 7 days per week (although you may negotiate some “time off” to work at a another job during the day but you will still be required to be on call and must leave your current job if required.  Don’t expect to be promoted as you will be seen as unreliable with poor time keeping.)

Pay: £00,000 per annum

Additional perks: You may park in the Parent/Child spaces at the supermarket if there are any available.  If there are none, then you must park in a normal space and try to wrestle your children from the car through a door that only opens six inches, without bumping the door into the car beside.

It seems amusing when you look at it this way, but if we truly consider what our time is worth we may choose to spend it differently.  Your life is like an egg timer filled with sand.  Once the sand has fallen to the bottom, there is no way of getting it back to the top.  Choose carefully on which you choose to spend your time, for how you spend your time is how you spend your life.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

2 responses »

  1. Zara Valentine

    Kim, you make my day! Life with kids and study is hectic at the moment and I am just trying to get through each day trying to do a good job with both………your blog brightens my day and when I am struggling, it makes me smile and believe I can get there, thank you x

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Zara. I love to know that you are reading every day and that you enjoy the blog. I love writing it! I feel that we women share so many of the same struggles, that it’s lovely to connect and support each other. Please keep in touch. xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

