RSS Feed

Do You Smell The Flowers Along The Way?

One of my husband’s favourite statements is that 99% of all communication is non verbal, and I must say that I agree.  You can tell a lot about a person from what they don’t say as much as from what they do.

Follow your heart

Take someone’s base state for example.  A base state is like your normal heart rate in that it’s how you are most of the time.  I go everywhere at 100 mph and rarely sit inactive.  If I’m sitting I’m reading, writing, typing or chatting and very rarely do I sit idle.  Normally I’m like a whirling dervish doing at least two things at the same time and I find it hard to finish one job before I start the next.  Others do things more slowly – walking, talking, moving etc.

How do you interact with time?

However, our base state can also affect how we interact with time and how we react to and control our environment.  The more steady our base state, the better our perception of time seems to be.  When we are mindful of our time, we tend to be more realistic about how long it will take to accomplish tasks, which can lead to us being more effective task masters.

Are you spinning your wheels?

People (like me) who’s base state tends to sit on a higher than normal frequency, may get a lot done but not be accomplishing much of anything. What do I mean?  Higher energy people, if they do not focus their energy strategically, may be like a car stuck in mud, spinning it’s wheels and not really going anywhere.  This is what I used to be like.  I was so concerned with doing that I forgot about being present and evaluating what the best use of my time was in any given moment.  So yes, I certainly was able to pack a lot into my day, but none of it was really getting me anywhere and actually left me feeling exhausted and frustrated.  I felt I was working my (well exercised) little butt off, but yet I didn’t particularly have much to show for it.  Sound familiar?

I read a saying once that stuck with me:

Don’t hurry, don’t worry, and don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers along the way.

Practice slowing your base state down and bringing it more in line with your resting heart rate.  You’ll find you not only get more done, but have a clearer focus to do the things you really want to do, and are actually good for you.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

2 responses »

  1. The last point is so true!! Love the pic too.

    Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog!
    Have a nice day!

    Reply
  2. Thank you Veronica! Very much appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

