RSS Feed

Mum Entrepreneurs value themselves and value their time

Mum Entrepreneurs value themselves and value their time

Today I was thinking about how much I get done in a day, because today (apart from a few hours writing this morning) I am choosing not to work very much.  Instead I am having lunch with my kids and then being pampered with a spray tan, manicure and blow dry followed by cocktails and dinner with my gorgeous hubby.  Yum! (on both counts ;))

However, my thinking got me thinking about how most mothers I know don’t value their time.  And why would they?  We live in a society where financial reward is linked to status and respect with sports stars and musicians making the most amount of money in comparison to teachers, child care providers or mothers.

Childcare isn’t seen as a highly paid job compared to the sports or pop stars so it’s no wonder that we don’t feel valued, or value ourselves.  It makes me think that perhaps once again our society has its values just a little inverted.  Perhaps if we spent more money supporting the mothers and educators in the world, we might be in a better place as the kids would have access to a better education and the mothers not be as frazzled.

So it begs the question, what value do you put on your time?  If you’re not valuing your time then you’re not getting as much done in a day as you could.  People treat with more care, the things that they value.  For example, my most expensive shoes have a rack of their very own in my wardrobe, whereas the day to day ones get chucked in a basket in the bottom.  It’s kind of like how I see our society.  The superstars have a rack of their own, while we mothers (who in my opinion have the most important jobs), get chucked in the basket and taken for granted.  Our devotion to our children and desire for the best for them often gets unconsciously abused as we struggle to do the best by everyone and forget about ourselves.

When you value yourself and your role as a mother, you’ll value your time and ultimately be more mindful of how you spend it.  Take time this Easter to value yourself and the work that you do.  Be gentle with yourself, take a break if you need one and remember to laugh and have fun.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

