RSS Feed

Mum’s the word

Mum’s the word

My hubby is away this weekend with work which means that I have very special privilege of caring for our four beautiful children all by myself.  He is often away with work for one or several days at a time, as are many men in the rugby profession, leaving their wives as rugby widows for a few days or more.

He hadn’t even left this morning when my mum was on the phone asking what she could do to help out.  She offered to take the kids so that I could go to yoga (which meant her missing her yoga class) and also asked would we all like to come for dinner.  In fact, it is while I am at her house that I am writing this blog; at her kitchen table, glass of sauvignon residing beside me while she plays the the baby and other kids in the living room, waiting for the food to come out of the AGA.  And this is not an irregular occurrence.  Some weekends I spend more time at my mum’s house than I do at my own, especially when Ryan is away.

What is it about mothers that causes us have an inherent empathy for another woman’s struggle?  It seems that with the birth of our first child, and all the responsibility that ensues, comes a deeper understanding of love and of cherishing another human being.

Have you ever noticed that once your friends start to have children, especially if it is later than you, you immediately establish a new bond on an entirely different level?  A level that is deeper and more meaningful than in previous times, and that comes with an understanding of the other person’s struggle that you perhaps couldn’t perceive in the past.

They say that before you judge someone you should first walk a mile in their shoes and I think that mothers run marathons on a daily basis, often changing their shoes several times along the way.  So when we see that other mum running her distance, in shoes that are hurting, we stop and offer her our shoes, so that we may try in some way to make her journey a little more comfortable, even if it means that we get blisters ourselves.

I believe I have the best mum in the world.  Sure she has her faults and we don’t always see eye to eye.  But my mum would not only take off her shoes to help me, but also every stitch of her clothing, if she thought it would make my day just a little bit easier.

So mum, this one is for you.  I know you read this blog on a daily basis, and I wanted to use it to say a very public thank you for all that you are and all that you do.  I wish everyone could have a mum like you.  If I’m even half the mum to my kids that you are to me, they will be very lucky kids indeed.

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

7 responses »

  1. That actually brought a tear to my eye Kim…Lovely!!

    Reply
  2. Zara Valentine

    I have to agree, your Mum is amazing, not just to her kids but also to her extended family. We love that Rob has brought Pam and all your family into our lives xxx

    Reply
  3. Carole McCarthy

    I agree – best Mum ever, I had a tear in my eye too! xxx

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Why Mompreneurs Have the Best Opportunities for Individual Success « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

