RSS Feed

Find your hero to find yourself

Find your hero to find yourself

Today I’ve been thinking about heroes and how crucial they are to our success in both our personal and professional lives.

Do you remember when you were a child and you had a hero?  Mine was She Ra from He Man.  She was a strong, wilful and skilled female warrior who helped He Man protect Castle Grey Skull from the evil Skeletor.  She could do amazing gymnastic-esque type moves, could somersault great distances, and had a very cool, hero style (typically skimpy) outfit.  There wasn’t a muffin top or a glimpse of orange peel thigh in sight.  Many an hour was spent emulating She Ra in our living room, leaping ungracefully from sofa to sofa like a baby giraffe and imagining what it would be like to have super powers.

Fast forward a few years and my heros are now slightly more tangible beings.  Like my friend Sara Bronfman.  Sara is one of the most ethical humanitarians I have ever had the privilege of knowing.  She has taught me how to be gentle, kind and compassionate.  She has upheld me when I was unable to uphold myself.  She works tirelessly to make the world a better place to live I believe that without our chance meeting at Dublin Horse Show in 2004, I would not live the kind of life I live today.

You see that’s the funny thing about heros.  They give us something to look up to and something to aspire to.  They give us a taste of something just a little bit better than what we have now.  When we’re with them we feel inspired. We want to be better, to do better and to have more.

Without heroes we would have no bar to reach, no mountain to climb, no feat of mankind to emulate.

So don’t believe that heroism ends with adulthood.  Perhaps if we connected more to that feeling we had as a child to be something more than what we are, it might inspire us to reach for the moon.  Sure even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars 😉

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

