RSS Feed

What is lifestyle and how can I get a better one?

What is lifestyle and how can I get a better one?

Today’s blog is written by my best friend Lisa Barwise.  Lisa is an mumpreneur, a health and fitness junkie and a wonderful humanitarian.  She is also a single mother who juggles her career and her family, trying to do her best by both her son and her business.

I hope you enjoy her writing as much as I do…..

What is lifestyle and how can I get a better one?

Ever had the experience that a piece of information, something you see, read or hear, is just meant for you, even though it is heard or read by thousands?

Today, whilst checking in my new health and fitness goals with my accountability partner and good friend in New York, she kindly drew to my attention something interesting that I was saying that I didn’t realise.

It seems everything I was saying, my intentions, language and thoughts were all based on becoming something different in the future. My whole motivation for what I was doing was to be better in the future, feel better, look better, happier… and implying the thought “then I will be OK”. 

Now, this might not sound bad but what she was getting at was that I was living in the future and not experiencing, enjoying or appreciating how things are now.

Let me explain by drawing from the teaching of the late, great Jim Rohn.

He says, in one of his lessons that I received in an email newsletter that very same day (and I felt was written soley for me!) called, “Wherever You Are, Be There”,

“One of the major reasons why we fail to find happiness or to create unique lifestyle is because we have not yet mastered the art of being.

While we are home our thoughts are still absorbed with solving the challenges we face at the office. And when we are at the office we find ourselves worrying about problems at home.

We go through the day without really listening to what others are saying to us. We may be hearing the words, but we aren’t absorbing the message.

As we go through the day we find ourselves focusing on past experiences or future possibilities. We are so involved in yesterday and tomorrow that we never even notice that today is slipping by.

We go through the day rather than getting something from the day. We are everywhere at any given moment in time except living in that moment in time.”

It is not about, when I get my new car, then I will be happy or when I am a size 8, then I will be happy. It’s about being grateful for your life, enjoying every moment and finding the joy in every thing you do.

Lifestyle is learning to be wherever you are. 

He goes on to say, “It is developing a unique focus on the current moment, and drawing from it all of the substance and wealth of experience and emotions that it has to offer. Lifestyle is taking time to watch a sunset. Lifestyle is listening to silence. Lifestyle is capturing each moment so that it becomes a new part of what we are and of what we are in the process of becoming. Lifestyle is not something we do; it is something we experience. And until we learn to be there, we will never master the art of living well.”

So, here is a thing to ponder when you consider changing your current lifestyle or imagine that the lifestyle would be greener on the other side, how does the grass taste right here? What have I got to be grateful for right now? What feeling am I going for and what would stop me from just feeling that way now?

You see,

“If you wanna be somebody, if you wanna go somewhere, you better wake up and pay attention”…because life is not about what you will have, will do or will become. It is about who you are now and how good you feel about that.

“He who has the most joy, wins!” (Keith Raniere)

To see more of Lisa’s writing visit her website at www.lisabarwise.com

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the mention. Hope you liked it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

