RSS Feed

Mumpreneurs, look closer to home to find your inspiration

Last night I was putting my youngest baby to bed before heading out for date night with Ryan.  (We Mumpreneurs even schedule our husbands into our to do list!)

I put him in his sleeping bag, turned him on his tummy, placed his blanket over him and then bent down to kiss him goodnight.  As my nose touched the soft skin on his neck between his ear and his shoulder, I breathed in the sweet smell of him and started nuzzling his neck.  He giggled a bit and so I did it again, but a little stronger this time, snorting and snuffling like a pig around his neck and cheek.  He started squealing with laughter and the more he laughed, the more I nuzzled, lost for a moment in time in the innocent pureness of his delight.

In that moment I had a memory of my mum doing the same thing to me as a little girl.  I remembered very clearly the smell of her perfume and toothpaste, and I felt the cloud of her blonde hair as it tickled my cheek.  I remember feeling in that moment so loved, protected and cherished just by the very act of her pouring her affection onto me, that I never wanted the feeling to end.  I wanted to grab her to me, squeeze her tight and never let go.

What is it about our children that evokes our primal feelings?  My friend Keith Raniere once said that adults could learn more from children than from any other adult, and I remember feeling slightly confused by this. Surely we were the educated ones?  The smart ones?  The ones here to teach the children about life?

But yet sometimes, I give myself permission to get lost with my children.  I snuggle them to sleep and forget about all the other chores that need done before I can sit and relax.  I play on the floor with them, pretending to be a wild animal who’s sole mission is to catch and tickle them, revelling in their squeals of joy.  I race with them in the garden, rediscovering a long buried memory of when running was pleasureable and not for weight loss.  In essence, I live for the pure joy of the moment, forgetting to worry about the past or the future.

I work extremely hard as a mumpreneur, and derive much pleasure from my work.  But often this pleasure pales in comparison to the moments that are shared with my children when I remember to live, to love and to be present.

 

We mums can get so bogged down, that it’s easy to forget what and who we are really doing it all for.  If you need to find the motivation to realise that dream, start that business or find those customers then look at your children.  Watch their faces as they laugh and play.  Think of how much more you could give them if you were happier and more fulfilled yourself.  If you struggle to find your own inspiration then borrow a little of theirs.  And above all, remember to live for now.

What step can you take right now to move you toward your goal?

Do it.  Schedule it.  Don’t wait.

For soon you will be old and your dream will fade.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

