RSS Feed

5 Tips for Mumpreneurs to be more effective in business and life

As a mindful Mumpreneur, one of my favourite quotes is from one of my most valued mentors, Keith Raniere.  He says:

“Some people will see a creative article about apples as an interesting way to learn about apples.  Others will see it as a deeper statement about nutrition.  But the rare systems thinker will see the “process of thought” within the article, recognising its significance to the ethical process of how knowledge and techology are handled relative to the future of world ecology.  After all, we can learn a lot about ourselves and our civilisation by examining how we handle an apple.”

My interpretation of what Keith is saying is that we have a choice as to how far we see our responsibility in all things.  I can just see an apple as an apple, if I choose.  Or if I really want to I could look deeper into how the apple was created, and how its creation relates to both the ecosystem that supported it, and also to the world as a whole.  I can also look at how much I value the apple and all that it stands for, so that I may better understand how I value myself.  After all, we can only truly love something as much as we love ourselves.  Everything effects everything.  The choice we have it how far we want to see the effects.  It’s called being a systems thinker.

Mothers are naturally systems thinkers.

We have the ability to see how one change in the household system will affect all the other systems.  Don’t believe me?  How many times have you been able to predict a future chain of events in your household from just one small change to the system?

For example, your child has a thirty minute nap in the afternoon in the care of a well intended relative.  When you discover it, your mind projects forward into a delayed bedtime due to not being tired, the other children being disrupted, potential night wakening followed by an early morning waking, resulting in a grumpy toddler which will upset the baby, which will mean that you don’t get your chores done, which means that your husband might not have a meal cooked that night, which means that he be may be grumpy with you, which may create a difficult atmosphere……!  Catch my drift?  That’s systems thinking.  It can also work backwards to trace an incident to the root of a problem.

Many of my readers may have gathered by now that I strive to be a mindful Mumpreneur.  Not only do I think about how I can grow my business and provide more for my children and family, I also consider very carefully the effect that my doing so may have on them, both positively or negatively. 

If you want to be more effective in business and in life, then practice being more mindful.

Try these tips to increase your awareness and raise your consciousness:

  1. Think deeply about the things you do, the decisions you make and who they might affect.
  2. Slow your thoughts down to match your resting heart rate.  Breathe more deeply and slowly.
  3. Stop being busy and start being strategic.  Ask yourself “Is the best use of my time right now?”
  4. Stop being impulsive.  Practice saying no to yourself and others if the action doesn’t serve your goals.
  5. Consider practicing Ashtanga yoga.  It will help strengthen your body and your mind and could help you to achieve better balance.

Please feel free to share if you have a tip for other mumpreneurs.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

4 responses »

  1. Kim all the text in bold makes the post difficult to read…just a wee fyi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

