RSS Feed

Make each moment count

Make each moment count

Last night I was at my Aunt’s 60th Birthday party.  We were watching old videos from when we were young, and among them was a video of her 40th birthday party.  I couldn’t believe that twenty years had passed so fast and that my sisters and I were now in the stage that my parents were at, when the 40th birthday took place.

I welled up a little as I watched my deceased Grandparents make speeches at the 40th party, and it dawned on me that my parents are now the same age that my Grandparents were at that time.  I watched with memories rushing over me, all the people I remembered from my childhood.  All those people that had touched my life and shaped me somehow, into the person I am today.  And in that moment I remembered to be thankful for all that I am and all that I have.

In twenty years people have changed.  Marriages have broken up, children have grown, loved ones have passed away.  I never could’ve imagined when that party was taking place, that we would only have another seven short years to appreciate my Uncle David, before cancer claimed his beautiful soul, and a little part of each of us died along with him.

Today I am thoughtful; pensive but yet, still joyful.  I feel I am one of the lucky ones.  I made sure that I stayed present at that party last night and appreciated every single minute of it.  I promised myself that I would not look back in twenty years and wish that I had spent more time with my loved ones.

We stayed late.  I sacrificed sleep.  But in return I enjoyed a wonderful experience of myself that only spending time with those that I love the most, can evoke in me.

Enjoy your loved ones.  Hold them close and make each moment count.  For nothing matters more than this moment, this precise moment, when you have an opportunity to experience joy.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

3 responses »

  1. Carole McCarthy

    Am blubbing!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mompreneur Finances: How Much Are You Losing By NOT Investing In Yourself? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

