RSS Feed

Persistence – the key to all success

Persistence – the key to all success

I think this is the latest that I have ever started to write my blog.  It’s 8.33pm, the kids are in bed and the house is quiet.  I’m sitting at my husband’s computer in his office as I realised on the way home from one of my mum’s legendary, family, Sunday lunches that I had left my laptop at her house.  Yes, I’m a little sad like that – I rarely go anywhere without my laptop in case I get five minutes peace to do some work!

Anyway, enough of my waffling.

I considered not writing today’s blog when I realised I’d left my computer behind.  Suddenly, when things weren’t as easy as opening my laptop and tapping away on the keys, I considered giving up.  Isn’t it funny how we do that?  I could’ve given myself a whole range of get out excuses that sounded perfectly plausible (I was tired, I didn’t know how to work Ryan’s computer, I had other more important things to do etc).

But even as I considered not writing it, I knew in the same instance that I wouldn’t not do it.  You see I promised myself when I started this blog some 43 days ago, that I would post every day for a year.  That’s 365 posts in 12 months.  And it will take much more than a misplaced laptop to stop me.

That’s the thing about persistence.  When you start on a persistency, and you practice being persistent in your life, magical things start to happen.  You start to achieve your goals.  People begin to trust that if you say you’ll do something, it will happen.  You learn to in trust yourself.

How many times do we make promises either to ourselves or others, without really believing the promise we make?  Or worse, how many times do we make promises knowing full well that we don’t intend to keep them?  I know I used to.

I have worked for nearly eight years with an incredible personal development company called Executive Success Programs, and it was here that I learned persistence.  It was also here that I learned how to experience joy.  I learned how to be gentle, kind and compassionate to myself and others.  I learned how to be a better mother, a better wife, a better daughter and a better sister.

I have developed a level of trust in myself that I never had before, and much of it is owed to my practicing being persistent: by getting off my lazy ass and doing the thing that I know is good for me, not only because I know it is good, but because I promised myself I would.

Persistence feels good.  These days I believe in myself and I achieve my goals.

Next time you hear yourself promise something, STOP.  Think about the promise you are making and if you really intend to uphold it. Practice being more mindful, and watch the small, but amazing changes, taking this simple step can make.

See you tomorrow!

With love

Kim

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Feeling unmotivated? Three strategies for Mumpreneurs to get back on track « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

