RSS Feed

5 tips for Mumpreneurs to achieve better work life balance

Following on from yesterday, I wanted to give you Michael Hyatt’s  five suggestions to find a work life balance that works for you.

It can be easy, as a Mumpreneur, to run around trying to everything at once and be all things to everybody.  Sound familiar?  The good news is that it doesn’t have to be that way.  With a little help and planning, you can achieve a balance that works for you and enables you to keep your priorities to your business and family, intact.  How?

Michael says:

1. Get crystal clear on your priorities.  Write them down. Get clear on your priorities and determine for yourself what matters most.

2. Schedule time for the things that matter most. I don’t know about you, but unless it’s on my schedule, it’s not likely to get done. The most important things have to appear on my calendar. Otherwise, they’re not going to get done.

3. Establish a brief set of non-negotiables. Let me just give you an example. I focus on personal development between 5:00 am and 8:00 am.  That’s one of my non-negotiables. Leave the office promptly at 6:00 pm. That’s another one of my non- negotiables.  Focus on the family between 6:30 pm and 8:00 pm, then I can go back to email or other projects after 8:00 pm. But to really have that time to eat a meal together, to sit down and talk, to talk about the things that happened that day, and to just process life together is important. Another non-negotiable for me is to take Gail on a date every week.

4. Strive for alignment between your priorities and your daily practice.  Again, I think priority management or priority alignment is a better metaphor than work-life balance.

5. Accept the fact that there will always be tension. This is not a problem to solve; it’s a tension to manage. I don’t think there is ever going to be this magical moment (I’m sorry to disappoint you) where you just suddenly achieve work-life balance or you’ve managed your priorities, you have them written down, and now everything is playing out exactly as you envisioned it. No. There’s always a tension. There’s always this tension or temptation to get things out of whack, to not live your life plan. I think you just have to accept that and be willing to keep working at it.

So to conclude this segment, let me leave you with this question: How are you doing at the practice of priority management?

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

