RSS Feed

Mompreneur In The Making: Five Ways To Turn your Dreams into a Business

Posted on

If you want to know where your heart is, look to where your mind goes when it wanders.

There are so many aspiring Mumpreneurs out there who have the entrepreneurial spirit but just don’t know what to do with it.  They want to start their own business and earn their own incomes but they have no idea where to begin.  They ask themselves questions like “What am I even good at?”  “How would I know which business to start?”.

Before I started my first company I had absolutely no clue what I wanted to do.  Then one day someone said to me “But Kim, you love your children and are passionate about their education and upbringing.  Why don’t you do something with that?”  I stared at the person in wide eyed amazement.  The thought had never even occurred to me!

I had heard of a multilingual kids company in New York who were doing amazing things with young children and so I set about finding out more about it.  Six months later, The Rainbow Garden was born.

The funny thing was that once I had set it up and run it for a year, I entered a different mindset.  I began to think more like a business person; my perception opened up and I began to see endless possibilities for new businesses.

I realised that many times the thing that stops us from acting is simply a fear of the unknown.  We’re creative women:  we can come up with all sorts of grand schemes for various things when the need arises.  But knowing how turn these ideas into a tangible business is the hard part, the part that requires work.  But when you do put in the work the creativity starts to flow, and the shift in perspective is immense.

Try these simple first steps to harness your entrepreneurial spirit:

1.  Write down all the things you are good at, or everything you love to do.  Your passions and your dreams.  This is your chance to be creative.  Don’t omit something because you think it is silly.  Dream big.

2.  Choose three to five things from your list that are truly your passions.  Choose the things that get you excited.  Choose the things that you would willingly leap out of bed in the morning to do, if you had the chance.

3.  Spend an hour on the internet researching the things you love.  Gather all the information that interests you.  Study the market around your passion.  Is there a gap in it?  Is there a service lacking?  Is there a niche that you could serve with your skill?

4.  Commit to spending an hour every day researching either by reading, listening or surfing the net.  Add fuel to your fire by gathering data. Ignite it, get excited, build belief.

5.  Keep a short daily diary or journal to record everything that sparks your interest, or where you potentially see a gap in the market.  There are no rules here.  The more possibilities your explore, the more likely you are to come across a new idea.

Question: Where have you found your best inspiration or ideas?  Please leave comments below.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mompreneur Success: Why Money Should Never Be The Main Reason You Start A Business « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

  2. Pingback: Mompreneurs – Why Feeling Pain And Discomfort Will Ultimately Result In Feeling More Joy « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

  3. Pingback: Mompreneurs – Why Feeling Pain And Discomfort Will Ultimately Result In Feeling More Joy | Kim Constable.com Mompreneurs – Why Feeling Pain And Discomfort Will Ultimately Result In Feeling More Joy |

Leave a Reply

