RSS Feed

A Simple Step to Find the Motivation to Succeed

Posted on

I was really saddened this weekend when we received devastating news.

My cousin’s 15 year old son was walking back from the chip shop with his friend on Friday night, a mere 100 yards from his house, when a car came very fast around the corner and hit him from behind.  His dad ran in his socks down the road when he got a call from his hysterical friend.  But the car had hit him too fast, and his beautiful son died in his arms.

I have been disturbed all weekend and my sleep has been restless.  No one could have loved their children more than Michael did.  Everything he did, he did for those kids and I’ve yet to meet a more devoted father.  Every time since I’ve looked at my kids, I’ve wanted to hold them fiercely to me, to protect them, to love them, to never let go.  For to lose a child is surely every parent’s worst nightmare.

I once heard someone say that you don’t know the capacity you have to love, until you have a child.  Certainly, I never really understood how all consuming love could be, until I gave birth to my first baby.

I remember looking at Corey when I was pregnant with Kai, and wondering if it was possible that I would ever love the new baby as much as I loved him.  But of course I did, and have loved two more since.  And with the birth of all those beautiful children, I found myself.  I found my reason for living, my reason for striving and my reason for wanting to create a better world.

Until I had children there existed no motivation big enough, to push me into doing the thing I always wanted to do – become an entrepreneur and start multiple businesses.  Until I had children, my dreams were just that – dreams.  Putting them into practice always seemed too hard, too much work and too much of a step into the unknown.  

I was comfortable in my life.  And in this instance, comfort was not my friend.  In this instance, comfort kept me from fulfilling my true potential and living the life I’d always dreamed of.

The moral of this story?

Don’t let being comfortable stop you from fulfilling your potential and living your dream.  Life is short.  Life is precious.  And we never know when it will end.  Don’t be satisfied with mediocrity and don’t settle for the norm.

You know what you want to do, so what’s stopping you from doing it?  Be honest.  Don’t kid yourself.

If you can’t find the motivation within yourself then look to your children.  If you can’t do it for you, do it for them.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

6 responses »

  1. So very sorry for your family’s loss!!! Felt so sad when i read your news!!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your comment. I try always to find a positive in every negative, but this one was HARD! I appreciate you taking the time to write. xx

      Reply
      • Absolutely love your blog…. need some motivation to change my life….your words of motivation help!!!!

      • Aw thank you so much. I’m so pleased you enjoy it. It’s hearing stuff like that which gives me the motivation to keep going!!!! xxx

  2. Pingback: What Will We Teach Today: Humiliation Or Shame? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

  3. Pingback: What Will We Teach Today? | Kim Constable.com What Will We Teach Today? |

Leave a Reply

