RSS Feed

What Will it Take for you to Commit to your Success?

Posted on

The idea for my first company The Rainbow Garden was presented to me nearly two years ago, yet it took until about a year ago until I was fully committed.  I thought it was a great idea, I loved the business, I was passionate about education for kids.  So why did it take nearly a year of fannying around for me to really start to make a success of it?

There were three main reasons:

  1. I wasn’t fully committed
  2. I was too comfortable in my current situation
  3. I was scared of being successful

German philosopher Goethe says this of commitment:

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back.  Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth that ignorance of which, kills countless ideas and splendid plans.  It is that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too.  All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred.  A whole stream of events and issues arise from the decision, raising in ones favour all manner of unforseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.  Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it.  Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.  Begin it now.”

When I read that quote it really made sense to me.  Until I fully committed to making a success of my business, it just sort of trundled along and grew organically.  I didn’t have any set goals, I didn’t measure my progress and I gave myself all sorts of excuses at to why it wasn’t growing as fast as it could.  It was when I decided that I was absolutely going to make a success of it, that things began to change.  A shift in my mindset created a massive shift in my business.

Comfort is also a great business killer.  You know how it is….. yes you want to grow your business but really, is life that bad?  Of course it would be lovely to have more disposable income, more money to buy nice things, more holidays, a better car.  But material things really don’t motivate us enough to move out of our comfort zone, if our comfort zone is comfortable enough.  Our current lifestyle isn’t bad enough to light a fire under our butt.

Fear is also a huge motivation killer.  I work closely with Executive Success Programs in overcoming my personal limitations to being successful.  I remember taking a walk with one of my mentors one day and he asked me why I was choosing not to have the things I wanted for myself and my family.  I remember feeling a bit indignant with him.  How dare he suggest I was choosing not to be successful.  It wasn’t my fault!  I was trying hard, really I was………Or was I?

Turns out, on closer examination, I was s**t scared of actually making a success of myself in case it threatened the security of my current situation (which was crazy and not true).  But I could never have know that this was going on until I really dug deep and explored it for myself.

Question:  What would it take for you to fully commit to your success?   You can leave a comment below.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: In Pursuit of Your Dreams, Is Your Fear Controlling You, or are You Controlling Your Fear? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

