RSS Feed

Time Management for Mompreneurs: 3 Secrets to Stay on Top

Posted on

I meet fellow Mompreneurs on a daily basis as they are my favourite people to connect and spend time with.  However, rarely do I meet one like I did last night.

My multilingual kids company is experiencing rapid growth, and I’ve been having meetings left, right and centre.  Yesterday I met with a mom who is enrolling her kids in Rainbow, and who I was hugely inspired by.  She has six children under the age of nine, the youngest being twins of two years old.  She works in a high-powered job from nine to five every day, and like me, needs many people to help her to balance all the roles she fulfils in her life.

She is smart, poised, calm, level-headed, vivacious and sickeningly gorgeous, all at the same time.  And to top it, her kids are amongst the happiest, outgoing and most affectionate I have ever met.  I looked at her and thought, how on earth do you manage it all?!

It’s funny, because people ask me the same question all the time:  “How on earth do you do it?”, and I finally got an experience last night of just what they must feel when they look at my hectic lifestyle.  With four kids, two companies and a squad of employees to manage, life can get, well, a little hectic at times!

As I was thinking about my roles and responsibilities today it struck me that there are three things that I do consistently that help me lead the kind of life that I do:

1.  Plan everything (and I mean everything)

Time chunking, online shopping, menu planning, date night, family time, you name it.  If it’s important to me, it gets scheduled in.

2.  Keep a running master TO DO list

As soon as something comes into my head that I need to do, be it buy light bulbs, batteries, sunscreen or new pyjamas, I write it in the notes section of my iPhone and transfer it into my diary.  Then I either Do it myself, Delegate it so someone else, or Dump it as it’s not important.  Things get done and life runs smootly.

3.  Implement a structured routine for your kids

I’ve yet to meet a Mompreneur who doesn’t have a structured routine for her kids.  From birth, I followed a routine for all the kids, which has allowed me to predict accurately when the baby will need to feed or sleep, and that has all the kids bathed and in bed no later than 8pm.  I believe that the level of predictability you can create in your routine is directly proportional to the amount of success you will have in your endeavours.

As my Mompreneur crush recited her schedule last night ,to see where we could fit Rainbow in for her kids, it occurred to me that we had a lot in common.  She was organised, structured and in control.  She was inspiring.

So don’t be afraid to jump into the driving seat and take control.  You may be surprised at the results you achieve.

Question:  What are your best strategies for success?

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mompreneur Finances: How Much Are You Losing By NOT Investing In Yourself? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

