RSS Feed

Growing your Business? The Secret to Successful Selling

Posted on

In this life we tend to surround ourselves with people we like and people who are like us.  

Do you know how sometimes you meet someone and you just ‘click’?  It’s hard to even put your finger on, but there is just something about them where you feel like they get you?  Well, if we assume for a moment that business is really just life, why should it be any different in business that it is in life?  

What do I mean exactly?

In life, we choose to surround ourselves with people with whom we share common values, and we call these people friends.  In business, we surround ourselves with people with whom we share common business values, and we call these people customers.  But is there really a huge difference?  Are our customers not just our friends, but in a different sphere?

Some of my best and most loyal customers have also become very good friends.  We share a laugh when we see each other and have a bit of banter or “craic” (as the Irish call it).  I genuinely like catching up with them and it would seem that the feeling is mutual.  They certainly seem to enjoy the services my company provides, and I certainly enjoy serving them.  In essence, we are closer to friends than to the traditional idea of business acquaintances.

When I first started out in business I spent all my time and energy trying to find new customers.  I had more meetings than a church hall and made more phone calls than British Telecom.  Did I have success?  To a varying degree, yes.  But are any of my “closed sales” still customers today?  Very few.  

You see the thing that I have learned is that it is not how many customers you have, but how well you look after the loyal base that you do have.  A small but genuinely interested customer base grown from a large, but well qualified prospect list, will go much further to growing your business than a large, but largely disinterested list will.

Personally I would prefer to have fewer Facebook likes and Twitter followers who were genuinely interested in what I had to say, than an enormous amount who really couldn’t give a damn.  These people are in your tribe.  They speak your language and will love what you do.  Find these people and watch your business grow.  Really, it is that simple.

Have a great weekend.

Love Kim

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Why Mompreneurs Have the Best Opportunities for Individual Success « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

