RSS Feed

How To Get the Results you Want AND Deserve in Business and in Life

Posted on

In recent years I have learned that if you put in the work, the results will come.  I don’t do things half heartedly because I know if I do, I will get half hearted results.  Michael Jordan

Although it’s not what many people like to hear, the results you get are in direct proportion to the effort you put in.  Often we like to blame the economy, society, our boss, our customers, our husband or our other commitments for why we don’t succeed.  I am not saying that these things will not provide challenges on your path to success.  More that the things that get the most of your time and attention, are the things that will produce the most consistent results.

In the past I’ve been guilty of expecting a far higher yield than the effort I put in.  Like in school for example:  I did very little work thoughout the year, then crammed the week before the exam.  What kind of results do you think I got?  (Average)  In fact I probably got lucky most times because I usually passed, but I certainly didn’t excel.

Yet that’s what most of us want in life and in business –  more results than we are willing to put in effort.

So the question then becomes, why do we want something we haven’t earned?

I remember complaining about someone one day to a very wise friend of mine.  A person had been bad mouthing me and I was lamenting about how unfair it was, as their perception of me wasn’t true.  I asked him why this person would say such things and he told me it was because I hadn’t earned their good opinion.  Huh?  I was taken aback.  Hadn’t earned it?  It was a new concept to me.  He told me that I couldn’t control people’s perceptions of me and if they thought badly it was because I hadn’t earned their good opinion.

It was one of those transformational times in my life.  Suddenly I didn’t feel like a victim any more.  I felt like I was in control, like I could effect change.  In order to get an outcome more like that which I desired, I just had to work harder and work smarter.  I had to earn the outcome I desired.

Don’t be one of the people who sound like they’re committed.  The ones who say all the right things and put in all the right appearances.

Commit yourself and take responsibility.  No more excuses.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: It’s Not The Critic Who Counts « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

  2. Pingback: It’s Not The Critic Who Counts | Kim Constable.com It’s Not The Critic Who Counts |

  3. Pingback: It’s Not The Critic Who Counts | Kim Constable.com It’s Not The Critic Who Counts |

Leave a Reply

