RSS Feed

Achieving Goals: Success Begins With This First Simple Step

I’ve been on vacation with my family in Spain for the last seven days.

Although it’s been extremely busy looking after the four kids, I have made time every morning to do at least a thirty minute yoga practice.  Believe me, the last thing I have felt like at 8am is practicing yoga.  I’m hungry, I’m still jaded from being up in the night with the kids (baby coughing, Kai needing water, Maya needing to pee, you know how it is!) and the thought of putting on my yoga clothes and starting a practice just is not appealing.

However, I have made the effort and reaped the rewards.  Once I am in the practice, on about my third sun salutation, something happens: I experience a change of state.  My body feeling passes from “I don’t want to do this”, to “this feels great”.  My body starts to stretch and waken up, the blood starts to flow and my system oxygenates.  By the time I am on my third asana (pose), I would be resentful if I had to stop.

What does this tell me?

That if we can overcome our body feeling in the moment and do what we know is good for us, we can change our whole lives.  Often the things that we need to do and that we know are good for us, are the ones that take the most effort to begin.  Things like going to the gym, making sales calls, creating products and writing, are exactly the same as my yoga practice.  Thinking about starting them is just not appealing.  But once I begin and get into the groove, they start to flow.

Do what is hard, but important for your success, every single day.

Pretty soon it becomes a habit, and your habit becomes success, and slowly but surely, you start to achieve your dreams.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

