RSS Feed

Five Lessons Learned From Taking a Vacation

Our vacation is ending tomorrow and I was reflecting today on the lessons I have learned from my time with the family.

Here are the most important lessons to me:

1.  Children thrive in an environment that is not too controlled.  

This vacation we have been very relaxed about our TV and computer console rules.  The kids have played as and when they want to, and have been relaxed, happy and fun.  I have also not had to listen to them incessantly asking when they can next play, which has been lovely for my sanity!

2.  Nothing bad will happen if you don’t have strict feeding time rules.

This vacation we have allowed the kids to eat what they want, when they want provided it is healthy.  We don’t buy sweets, candy and chocolate so they have snacked on cereal, pasta, toast, cheese, fruit, popcorn and crackers, as and when they want.  Their energy levels have been good and their form has been great.  I’m going to try to keep this up when I get home.

3.  As long as I have a daily yoga practice, I can cope with anything

Having my 45 minutes to perform a yoga practice every morning has kept me feeling healthy, happy and fit.  I am going home feeling good about my body and myself.

4.  We don’t need to work as much as we think we do

It took me a few days to wind down and chill out, but once I did I realised that I could actually run my two companies from working about one hour per day.  I wrote my blog, answered important emails and phone calls, and delegated or deleted the rest.  Everything has run smoothly in my absence.

5.  Women will always pull together to share the work

Having one of my sisters here and also my mom, has made this holiday the best ever.  We all pulled together every day to feed the troops, look after the baby and allow each other some rest and relaxation.  Women inherently stick together and have empathy for another woman’s struggle.  They are my favourite type of people. 😀

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

