RSS Feed

Steps to Success: How to Recognise and Embrace Them

I have been a coach with a personal development company called Executive Success Programs for a number of years.

I remember chatting to the founder of the company one day and relating to him how I felt so much more joyful in recent times than I ever had before, and how I was relishing the happy changes.  I remember that he smiled and shared with me that the changes probably would not feel as good in a few months as they did right not.  Not because they would not be permanent, but rather that my new level of contentment would soon become my “norm”.  I would plateau on this new level until I began to get restless again, and I would start to seek further changes and more progress in my life and towards my goals.

I was thinking about this conversation today and remember just how correct his prediction had been.  I also thought about how this particular pattern could relate to other areas of my life.

When we start on the road to something new, we don’t always do it mindfully and consciously.

Remember when you started your first business?  You were excited about your idea, enthused about your products and services, and got out there firing on all cylinders to get things moving.  But soon enough things started to slow down, the new became the normal, you settled into a way of going and things stopped moving upwards and kind of stayed the same.

You began to coast.  You realised that actually this was damn hard work, and please, could things not move just a teensy bit faster?

What we don’t realise is that the coast is actually a good thing.  It allows us to stabilise and re-evaluate.  It offers us the opportunity to plan the next steps and start to move towards executing them.  It’s like climbing a stair case slowly, one step at a time, with a little rest on each step.

Success requires not only hard work, but also patience.  Patience and practice.

Remember: the next step will only feel good for a little while before you will have to move on again.  It is the journey that truly feels good, and causes the most contentment of all.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

