RSS Feed

Customer Service: How to Ensure You Are Exceeding Their Expectations

Have you ever had bad service?

My guess is yes.  It’s happened to us all at some point or another.  Nobody is perfect and we all make mistakes.

But success in business doesn’t come from not making mistakes, it comes from how you handle them.

Often times, failing to meet a customers expectations can actually be a blessing in disguise.

Case in point:  Once I went for a full body spray tan.  It was obvious to me that the girl who sprayed me, wasn’t very experienced.  The tan was adequate when it developed, but certainly not up to the near perfect standard that I had come to expect from this particular salon.

So I called the salon the next day, apologised for the fact that I was complaining, and explained the situation.  The manager was overly apologetic on the phone, promptly shifted her appointments that morning, and asked me to come in in thirty minutes to respray me free of charge.  I was extremely happy by her understanding my concern and for the prompt handling of the situation, as to be honest I don’t really enjoy making a complaint.

When I arrived at the salon she told me how grateful she was that I had given them the chance to put things right and as I was leaving she proffered me a voucher for a full body scrub, as a way of an apology.  I couldn’t believe it.  She had gone out of her way to take responsibility for my discontent, and gone the extra mile to ensure that I was 100% satisfied.

Now that is customer service.

As I see it, when someone complains you have two choices:

1. Fix the problem immediately and exceed their expectations

2. Blame either them or your staff, and try to abnegate responsibility

 

But remember this: people will talk to their friends about the services they use, and it’s up to you how they talk about yours.

Exceed their expectations and they will tell everyone.

Fail to meet their expectations and they will tell everyone.

The choice is yours.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Special Offer: How To Win More Business With Deals That Are Genuinely Good For Your Customer « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

