RSS Feed

Time Management for Mompreneurs:

Before I became a Mompreneur, I had frequently thought how nice it would be to work for myself, earn my own income and keep my own hours. 

However, I barely had time to have a shower in the morning, never mind start a new business.  Transitioning from being full time mum to full time mum at work was a steady process that required much failure until I got it right.

In the beginning I worked hard at the business, attacking it with gusto and determination, so that other areas of my life started to suffer.  Quite often I didn’t have time to cook dinner so had to either order in or pick up something pre-prepared to put in the oven.  My kids and I used to spend quality time together every day, but I became so preoccupied when I was with them, that our time together wasn’t as special as it used to be.  Worse still, I started to feel guilty all the time and got angry when my husband suggested that I wasn’t coping very well, and took his criticism as him telling me I was failing.

Yet in a lot of ways I was.

I had taken on this new business to make my family life better but instead it seemed to be getting worse! One day I realised that something had to give.  I couldn’t go on the way I was going, but yet I wasn’t prepared to give up.  So rather than fall flat on my face, I decided to take action.

I gave myself one week “off” to evaluate all the aspects of my life and implement new systems.  I realised that the biggest part of my failure had been to start the business “blind” so to speak.  I had never proactively planned my home life before; it had just happened organically as I had more children and took on more responsibility.  When I started focusing my time in a new area, the other areas began to suffer.  I hadn’t mindfully set the system up so I didn’t know how to tweak it to accommodate the change.

When I took control an amazing thing happened: I suddenly found I had more time and all I had done was make a few simple changes to my concept of time management.  Not only did I begin to accomplish more every day, I found that I had more time than I needed to get things done. And step by step I built a strong team around me so I could focus on the things that would best serve my business and my family.

Today both my business and my family are thriving.  Life is good and it’s getting better.

What is stopping you from having the life you want?  What are you currently struggling with?  I’d love to hear your comments.

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mompreneur Get Up And Go: Steps You Can Take Today To Start Your Business « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

