RSS Feed

Mompreneur Relaxation: Why It’s Important To Spend As Much Time Relaxing As You Do Building Your Business

Yesterday, on the spur of the moment, I packed the four kids into the car, left my husband at home, and drove the sixty odd miles to my parents house on the coast, for a day and night of catch up and relaxation.  We took the kids to the amusement park, had a drink in the local hotel, and crowded round the big island in the kitchen, while I donned an apron and a glass of red wine, and whipped up a delicious dinner.

I’ve been run off my feet busy lately, and I had no idea how much I needed some mindless chat with my step mum, and some in depth business talk with my dad.  And although I didn’t sleep much, I have spent today with the kind of glow that only spending time with your nearest and dearest can do to you.

As I stood cooking in the kitchen last night, laughing and joking with my parents, James Taylor crooning in the background, I had one of my moments.  I suddenly looked at my family and reminded myself that this is what life is all about.  I’m so busy working my butt off every day, trying to create a better life for my kids, that it’s easy to forget what’s really important.  Love, relationships and friendship.

Yesterday for the first time in a long time, I was able to leave the pressures of home behind, and spend quality time with my kids.  We snuggled, laughed and joked.  They basked in the glow of my attention, and bonded even more deeply with their grandparents.  In some small way, their childhoods were enhanced and the day committed to their memories.

Don’t forget what’s important.  Your kids will not remember how much money you made or how many toys they had in their playroom.  But they will remember feeling loved, cherished and appreciated.

Spend as much time building memories, as you do building a business and your life will be rich indeed.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. What a nice day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

