RSS Feed

Mompreneur Success: Why Money Should Never Be The Main Reason You Start A Business

Starting a business just to make money, is like starting a relationship with a billionaire you don’t love:  bound to end in heartache and disaster.

Yet I see it time and time again: businesses that fail simply because the person who started it didn’t have a love and a passion for what they were doing.

Consider two scenarios:

1.  I like eating in restaurants, so I decide to open one.  I like steak, so I decide to open a steak house.  I love money, and am excited by the prospect of making some from my steak house.  So I gather together some investors, sell them on my idea, find a chef and a restaurant manager, open my steak house and wait for the money to roll in.

2.  I love food.  I have a passion for food.  I knew from a very young age that I wanted to be a chef, so spent years training and sweating in a kitchen, to cook food that people love to eat.  And now, several blood sweat and tears years later, I decide to take the plunge and open my own restaurant.  I vow that I will work hard to ensure that I make food that people love enough to become loyal customers to my restaurant.

Which one is more likely to succeed?  

If you don’t love what you do, you will never be able to muster enough energy to make it through the bad times.  If you start a business solely to make money, you won’t look for ways to iron out the problems, if the money doesn’t start rolling in.

Of course it’s great to have a financial goal, and everybody in business should.  But your financial goal should be an effect of providing an outstanding product, with outstanding service; not the main event.

So the question then becomes, Are you in business for yourself, or are you in business for your customers?

And which is the business more likely to succeed?

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

