RSS Feed

Special Offer: How To Win More Business With Deals That Are Genuinely Good For Your Customer

This morning I received an email offer from Tesco, our local multinational supermarket.

The offer was to sign up to have your groceries delivered as many times as you liked per week, for a set monthly fee of either £12 per month for the 3 month plan, or £10 per month for the six month plan.

I have a family of four kids, and a husband with a healthy appetite.  To say my grocery bills are large each week, would be an understatement.  I have at least one, but often two deliveries per week at a cost of between £4.40 and £6.50 per time, depending on the slot I choose.  

So this offer is genuinely good value for me.

It means that I will probably save in the region of £24-£30 each month in deliveries, from a supplier that I love, for their superb service and standard of food.  In essence, it has served to strengthen my loyalty to them as my main grocery supplier.

The thing I love about Tesco is their unfailing delivery, in terms of customer service and product.  Although they are losing in revenue from me from this delivery plan, they have thought ahead in securing my business for at least the next six months.  It’s a win:win situation.  I win because I save money, they win by securing my loyalty into the future.

When you think of offering your customers a special deal, don’t be tempted to offer something that appears to be good value, but is really mostly about what you can get out of it.  I see it time and time again; businesses yelling about an AMAZING OFFER, that when you examine it, really isn’t that amazing after all.

If you want to win your customer’s loyalty, then examine their needs and buying habits and come up with an offer that is genuinely good for them.  

Your win from the situation should be more about building connection, than obvious financial gain.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

