RSS Feed

Mompreneur Marketing: How To Spread The Word And Grow Your Business Fast

It’s been about eighteen months since I ventured into the world of entrepreneurism and started my first company, and I’ve learned a lot in those short months.

I have learned that:

Every single parent thinks that what we do is amazing

Every single parent would choose it for their child

But…

Not everyone can afford my product

Not everyone wants to afford my product.  

People ask me all the time if they can have one hour per week, or two hours per week, hoping that this will be enough for their kids to start speaking another language.  But of course, it isn’t.  Just as your child could not learn English at home in two hours a week, nor could they learn Spanish or Chinese in two hours per week.  I realised that I was wasting my time talking to the people who couldn’t afford my product and didn’t want to afford my product: they would never buy from me.  They were not the ones willing to take the financial risk involved in giving their child this kind of education.

The problem with marketing your product or service is that ultimately most of the people you meet will be the masses: the early majority and the late majority.

This is simply numbers.

Out 100 people who have bought a product of service, 68 of them will be the middlemen – the people who bought only because the product gathered momentum and the word spread.  Market to these people and you are on an uphill struggle.

They are not the daring innovators or early adopters who are on the look out for the newest gadgets and exciting developments.  You may have lots of meetings and do many presentations, but your closing rate will be low.  These people are not willing to take the risk before everyone else has.

However, if you concentrate your efforts on finding the innovators (there’s only 2.5 of them in every 100) or the early adopters (only 13.5 of them in every 100), you may have less meetings and do less presentations; but you will certainly enjoy more closes.

These are the people who spread the excitement (if your product is good).

These are the people who will persuade the masses (the 68% majority)

These are the people who will help your business grow.

So now your only job is to make your product remarkable (as Seth Godin says) “Give them something worth talking about”.  Don’t play it safe and most importantly, don’t be afraid to be yourself.

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Mompreneur Marketing: 5 Business Building Strategies Every Mompreneur Should Know « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

