RSS Feed

Time Management For Mums: How To Take Control And Lose The Guilt

One of the biggest excuses we use for not having more of the things we want in life, is that we don’t have the time.  

In the past my life was extremely busy; being a stay at home mum with three young kids.  But even that wasn’t uncomfortable enough to make me act in a different way.  I finally decided to change when my fourth baby was born and I simply couldn’t continue the way I was.  

I felt guilty because I wasn’t spending enough time with the older kids, because every spare minute I had was spent tending to Jack.

I felt guilty that all I could do was bitch at my husband when he came in from work, cause I thought blaming him for my situation would make me feel better.

I felt guilty that I wasn’t able to work enough on Rainbow and bring in more customers.

I felt guilty that I never got to see my sisters and my parents and that every time they called me to say hello, I was distracted and preoccupied.

Quite simply, I felt like a total and utter failure.

The funny thing about hitting rock bottom is that there is only one way you can go from there: UP.  I decided to take control of my life, implement systems, take a step back and evaluate what is important.  

I set simple, measurable goals for my relationship, work and family that didn’t involve a massive amount of action or planning, but that started things moving in the right direction.

And do you know what happened?  Dramatic improvement.  You see, when I gave myself the luxury of more time, I actually knew how to spend it because I had a small, doable action list that included all the things that were important to me.  I now have purpose, direction and peace.  

Am I perfect?  Absolutely not.  But life certainly feels a million times more enjoyable.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

3 responses »

  1. Totally agree. I went on holiday this summer for 2 weeks and I chose not to work at all – first time in 10 years that I’ve not done ‘something’ .. and guess what? The business didn’t fail, nothing was lost and I had time to re-evaluate my life .. I’m still rather hopeless at time management but I’m learning bit by bit that you can take time off and out of the day to spend time on you/the family/your partner/husband!

    Fiona

    Reply
    • Fiona that’s so funny you say that, because I did just that today! Spent the morning with the kids, cooked a big pot of soup, then piled them into the car (with the soup) and drove to visit my dad and Grandma. It was great! Then I poured a G&T when I got home and made a big pot of pasta for dinner as my husband is away for the night. Now I’m about to go to bed BEFORE midnight for the first time in a long time. I feel great!! Big hugs x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

