RSS Feed

Customer Complaints: How To Manage Them With Dignity and Grace

Why did you go into business?  Can you remember?  

If it wasn’t to provide people with a great product and great service, then you might be in trouble.

When a customer comes to you with a complaint or an area of concern, it’s good to remember why you got into business in the first place.

If you choose not to remember, you may be tempted to defend, deflect, blame or argue.  You might even win.  But you will certainly lose their trust and perhaps even their business.

Even when your viscera is up and you want to show them where they are wrong, don’t.  Take a deep breath, nod your head and say “I understand”.  Remember that you wanted to serve people with your company, and that requires taking the bad with the good.

Don’t send the angry email and put away the boxing gloves.  Remember the bigger picture.

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

3 responses »

  1. This is a great post! I just wrote one myself in almost the same area of business. I love it that you understand what good business is and that you encourage people to remember why they got into business in the first place.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Can I Have My Money Back Please? « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

