RSS Feed

The Secret Of Sales Conversion That Every Business Needs To Know

This morning I was fixing cereal for my four kids.

As I picked up the various boxes to cater to their different demands, I asked myself why we have so many different cereal boxes in the cupboard in the first place.  What’s my filtering mechanism behind choosing the cereal?

Firstly I choose on my value of health:  nothing with chocolate or excess sugar makes it into my shopping basket, no matter how hard the kids plead and beg.  There are certain cereals I would never ever purchase, based on the higher value of health over taste.

The second filter comes down to personal preference: Corey likes his cereal cold, Kai prefers his hot and Maya will go either way.  Jack requires cereal that can be mushed up well, and generally the warm ones do this better.

It occurred to me that the how I filter what boxes make it into the cart, has nothing to do with how attractive the boxes look, and everything to do with my own core values.

Only when I have filtered through these, do I start to make a decision which is based on the information contained on the product.

Many times in business we have it the wrong way.  

We think that if we package our offer right, we can get people to pick it up and choose to buy it.  This is incorrect.  When someone picks up your box, it’s because they’ve already decided they could buy: you’ve already established a connection.  

Now all you have to do is find out what their next filter is: their personal preferences.  Kind of like when you stop for ice cream.  You don’t enter the ice cream shop to decide if you want ice cream; you enter it to choose your flavour.

Ask the right questions, listen actively to the responses and write the information down.

Watch your sales grow.

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

