RSS Feed

Products Or Benefits? Why Knowing The Difference Is Essential For Making More Sales

When I first started this blog, 170 days ago, someone told me that the best blog posts should be around 150 words long.

I remember looking at them as if they were quite mad.  How could I possibly say what I had to say in that few words?  My first posts were a struggle to stay under 700 words, let alone 150.

Yet as I have proceeded with my blog, my posts have gradually become shorter.  Now I average 150 words on a short day and 300 words on a long day and I’m clearer and more concise in my message.

I know exactly who I’m talking to and how valuable their time is.

The only blog that I subscribe to that I read on a daily basis (without fail) is one by Seth Godin.  It’s short and to the point, takes under one minute to read.

It’s valuable to me because it satisfies two of my core values:

  1. Education
  2. Time

I’m lacking in both, so Seth manages to educate me in a very short space of time.  I don’t subscribe to his blog, I subscribe to the benefits that his blog brings me.

So the questions then become:

What is your customer lacking that you are aiming to give them? 

What is the need of your niche that you are working to meet?

Remember: people don’t buy products, people buy benefits.

So how will your company make their lives a little bit better?

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

