RSS Feed

Goodwill Spends Money But Money Does Not Spend Goodwill

Customer service is not complicated and keeping your customers happy is not hard.  

In fact, it’s really very simple.

Take for example my recent experience with Apple.

My 6 year old son asked me could he purchase a 0.69p add-on to the app he was playing on my iPhone and I agreed.  Little did I (or he) know, that when I typed in my iTunes password, it gave him full access to purchase whatever he wanted within the game.

Lo and behold, I was landed with a bill for £146.00 the next morning from iTunes.

Who’s responsibility was it?  Well, mine of course.  If I am the one paying the bill, then I am responsible for every single aspect of the money I spend.  “I did not know so therefore I am not responsible” does not apply here.  I should’ve made it my business to find out.

Yet anyway, I wrote to Apple and explained the situation, hoping that the Fruit Ninja App might want to share some of the cost, and refund me some of the money.  I expected to have to fight my case, and state very strongly where I believed they have a responsibility to help to guard unwitting parents against this happening.

As it happened, it didn’t even get as far as Fruit Ninja.  Within 24 hours I had a response from Apple apologising for my experience, and promising a full refund of the money, no questions asked.  

The outcome?

1.  They saved me two of my most precious commodities: Time and Money

2.  I told all my friends and Facebook followers how incredible Apple are.

3.  I was able to teach my son the value of gratitude, and helped him to write a letter to Apple, thanking them for their generosity.

Remember: Goodwill spends money, but money does not spend goodwill.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Responsibility Exists Whether You Like It Or Not « Lipgloss Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

