RSS Feed

Marketing: How To Find More Customers And Grow Your Business – Fast!

Marketing.

When you hear this word, what images spring to mind?

Ad campaigns?  Cold calling?  Door to door sales?  Leaflet drops?  Facebook?  Twitter?

Traditionally marketing has been all about reaching the masses.  The more people you can hit with your message, the more chance you have of turning these people into customers, right?

Wrong.

Seth Godin calls it “Interruption Marketing”.  He says that for years businesses have been trying to interrupt us with their message, hoping that they can catch our attention for a split second and persuade us to buy.

I remember when I started my first business.  I printed off thousands of leaflets and went frequently to all the places I knew that parents would be.  I hired people to stop (interrupt) people when they were playing with their kids, or having a fun day out, and offer them a leaflet, which detailed all our services.  I also did door to door leaflet drops.

How many customers do you think I got from this expensive marketing endeavour?

Zero.

Where did all my customers come from?

Word of mouth marketing.

When people enjoy your services, they will tell their friends.  And if you provide a service that is really worth talking about, they will be even more keen to spread the word.

Want to know how to find more customers?  Look after the ones you already have.  Give them something worth talking about.

Create a once in a life time opportunity.

Offer something that no one else is offering.

Think outside the box.

Create something special that they can’t resist spreading.

Let your consumers do your marketing for you.  All you have to do is come up with the big idea – the something special, and the rest will take care of itself.

 

 

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

9 responses »

  1. That’s great because I hate cold calling and handing out pamphlets!

    Reply
  2. Me too Stacey! And the funny thing is that I DID feel like I was interrupting people when I stopped them to hand out a leaflet. When people do it to me, I barely look at it. I’m not in a place to receive the information as I’m too busy concentrating on something else. This other way to market takes more work, but is ultimately worth it in the end. 🙂

    Reply
  3. My turn to be a nerd 🙂 Don’t mix up marketing with advertising.

    Reply
  4. It is, but many employers recruit a “marketing” person to work on flyers etc when they don’t realise that really whay they want is an advertising exec. A true marketing role involves looking at the whole “market” and looks for ways to best address the needs – through better product development, communications, distribution etc. not just advertising.

    I do agree though that “interruption” communications have limited returns. Currently I am running an initiative that gets away from the “one message for all” campaigns and instead having lots of smaller projects to target very specific groups of customers. Our Key Opinion Leaders are vital to the continuation of the “word of mouth” aspect, sometimes tracking them down is half the battle!

    Reply
  5. Reblogged this on 5oh9.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

