RSS Feed

Time And Tax Stamps

I remember when I was younger I worked for a company that cut and packaged printed tax stamps for cigarette packets. 

Each tax stamp was worth between £1.00 and £5.00 and they were about half and inch wide by an inch long.  They were printed on very thin paper, and were fiddly to work with.  If you dropped one from the bench, it was like trying to catch a falling feather; virtually impossible. 

The company that employed my boss to cut these stamps were understandably very concerned with their safety.  They arrived in pre-counted pallets and were stored in a fireproof room that was specially built to house them.  Each batch of sheets was machine counted and verified by a member of staff, before being guillotined.

Each tiny bundle of stamps was then handled and packaged with the utmost of care.  It was not acceptable for someone to lose or damage even one stamp as the cost to the company was so high.

Imagine if we viewed time in the same way

My boss could not have taken the same care of the stamps if he did not know exactly how many he had in his factory.  He could not have known if each stamp made it’s allocated destination, if he was not sure of the amount in the first place.

Every time you choose to spend a unit of time on something that is not truly your value, it is like losing or damaging a tax stamp.

The incremental value may not be that much, but added together over a period of time, the potential loss is huge. 

Just like my boss could’ve lost this customer, so are you losing your dreams and ambitions, every time you choose not to value your time as the precious resource that it is.

 

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

