RSS Feed

Your Life: A Sparkly String Of Fairy Lights?

Have you ever noticed how as we get older, time seems to go faster?  

I was speaking to someone last night on the phone that I haven’t seen for almost a year.  When she asked me what I had been up to, I honestly couldn’t answer her.  Events have seemed to merge into each other.

The problem is that when we are kids, time seems to go pretty slowly.

So when something happens that is slightly out of routine, it seems exciting and memorable because most of what they do and experience is new to them.

As we grow up, time is punctuated by exciting adult events:  graduating high school, your first job, getting engaged, getting married, your first child…  But then we have kids, settle down and life becomes routine.  The special times do not occur as frequently.

A few years ago I made a commitment to myself that I would treat every occasion in my life, as a special one.

I would wear my best dress on an insignificant day or drink champagne with family because being with them was the occasion.  I thought about things I could do to create my own family memories.

I asked my kids what we could do as a family this year, to make the year stand out.  A beach holiday?  A outing to a funfair?  A big family barbecue with a bouncy castle?

Start spicing up your life with exciting events.  Involve your kids, and create lasting memories.

Make your life look like a sparkly string of fairy lights.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

2 responses »

  1. Day Today Dating

    This is so true. Enjoy the moment!

    – K.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

