RSS Feed

Happy Baby Happy You

My sister Kerry Nevins has just started her very own blog, and amassed over sixteen likes of her first ever post!  

I am so proud of her.

She writes candidly and from the heart.  She offers no nonsense advice, and is great at bossing mums around when they need it the most, helping to ease their worries and make their path a little smoother.

I am honoured to share one of her posts with you today.

If you like what you read, and want to read more then hope you will visit her blog or Facebook page, and pass it on to any of your friends, who are struggling to cope with the demands of motherhood.

Step By Step

I remember when Amy was born, just staring at her and worrying about everything and anything, I felt like my world was turned upside down and nothing would ever be the same again.  Every time I looked at the back of her tiny neck, I cried.  I was a mess, so emotional, why couldn’t I just be happy?  I had the baby I had always longed for, she was so good, never cried, so content, yet I was falling to pieces.

My mum always told me that you have no control over your hormones – they control you.  You reason with yourself that you’re being ridiculous, that you should snap out of it, and aren’t you lucky you have a perfectly formed baby who’s as good as gold? Unfortunately, it’s just not that easy.  

If you are feeling overwhelmed with emotion then it’s time to put yourself first.  Friends and family will just have to wait to see your baby.  Take a ‘babymoon’, lock yourself away, ignore the phone and send those closest to you a message to say that you and your baby are taking a week or two to get to know one another.  You’re going to do this your way.

If people offer to help, don’t refuse.  Ask them to cook a meal or clean your windows – anything; they wouldn’t offer if they minded.  Think about how you feel when someone asks for your help – you’re flattered and eager to do your best to please them.  

Stop comparing yourself to other mums and how they’re coping, concentrate on yourself – most mums let on that they’re fine and, yes, many are, but you’re not alone if you’re finding it tough.  

Amy’s eleven now and Harry’s nine, I had none of the emotion with Harry that I had with Amy (even though Amy was an angel and Harry was very unsettled).  

Step by step, tomorrow’s a new day, you can do this 🙂

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

Leave a Reply

