RSS Feed

Now Where Did I Put That…?

As a busy mum, do you ever find yourself with piles of paper all over the house? 

I used to have a pile on a shelf in the kitchen where all the bit of paper that came into the house used to reside.  Doctors letters, dentist appointments, eye tests, MOT reminders, credit card bills, bank statements, you name it: it went into the pile.

As a result I was always losing important bits of information. 

I would put the dentist’s appointment reminder on the shelf and somehow convince myself that because it was there, I wouldn’t forget.  Wrong. 

So many appointments were wasted due to my inefficient system, and I’m sure my dentist was ready to throttle me!

Even if your house is small, you can still create a system that works for you.  You don’t need a huge desk and a mountain of in trays to be a little more organised (I promise).

Armed with a small shelf, a concertina box file and a couple of lever arch files and a steely determination, you can create a perfectly manageable filing system that works for you and keeps your life running smoothly.

Remember, make things happen, don’t make excuses.  

 

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

4 responses »

  1. Kim,
    This is a subject I think everyone struggles with. One of the reasons is we are not taught a simple way to handle all these pieces of paper. In addition, we don’t know how to “mentally” manage the categories where they belong in our lives. This is my is area of expertise having worked with individuals and their paperwork all my career. There is a simple way to do this without getting too entangled. Think of it this way. There are four major categories of paperwork in everyone’s life. Yes, I said 4 categories. Everything you have fits into one of 4 categories. They are: Personal Records (everything that is NOT financial), Assets, Liabilities, and Insurance. Split everything into these categories and then start filing. It will make it easier to find it again when needed if you have a target to start looking. For more info and complete instructions you can visit http://www.easy-pim.com. Let me know if I can help in any way.

    Linda

    Reply
  2. Opps, and one more thing Kim. If you are able to “conquer” this paper tiger it will save you an incredible amount of time and aggravation. This area can affect several other areas of your life. If you paperwork is a mess you will have a harder time with things like Estate Planning. We all know that everyone needs advanced directives let along a will. Also record retention can be a problem when you hang on to documents that are not sure what to do with, but tired of keeping. In addition, think of protecting your household with a home inventory. If your documents are not in order, chances are these thing swill never get done.
    Linda

    Reply
    • Wow what a great tip! Although my filing system is a heck of a lot better than it used to be I never considered the PR, Assets, Liabilities and Insurance. Would you like to write a blog post for my readers on it? Something that might help busy mums to organise themselves a bit more efficiently?

      Reply
  3. Let’s discuss offline. My email is Linda@easy-pim.com. Would love to do a guest blog for you. Let’s talk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

