RSS Feed

Be Aware or Beware?

Knowing how important and urgent an item is will enable you to decide how to plan your day. 

Take exercise as an example.  For most people exercise is important, yet very few people actually make regular time for it.  Why?  More often than not, there is no real sense of urgency associated with it.

In fact, even the thought of doing it, causes us to shudder because we feel very comfortable with where we are right now.  We find it hard to project into the future to how we will feel after the exercise, and instead indulge our comfortable feeling in the moment (as I learned from a great friend and marathon runner).

The only way to combat this state of reactivity is to bring yourself to a higher consciousness.  By this I do not mean to channel a spiritual being or a higher self, but to make a decision to be more aware of your state; your physical and mental being.

You are not a victim of your life; you have choice in every single moment. Like it or not, you choose how to spend your minutes, your hours and ultimately your life.

Make sure the choices you are making are good ones.

About kimconstable

I am Kim: mum to the gorgeous Corey, Kai, Maya and Jack. I own and run multilingual children's company (www.rainbowgardenni.co.uk). I am passionate about ethics and upholding humanitarian values through education. Above all, I am a people person. I love human to human marketing and am insatiably curious about what drives us to do what we do and be who we are. Thank you for reading my blog. You matter to me.

8 responses »

  1. I agree….we aren’t victims of life. So much is in our control and we spend a lot of time worrying about the things we can’t. So much good in the world and we spend most of our time focusing on what’s bad. I love life and this post shows that you do too….keep writing positive pieces and maybe they can encourage someone to be whole!!!!

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! Focusing on the bad seems to come so much more easily than focusing on the good. I do love life like you! I remind myself every day to be joyful and thankful for what I have in my life. In the end, the person most affected by negativity is me, so better to choose happy. 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

      Reply
  2. Hi Kim,

    I stumbled onto your blog today, and am so glad I did–I love the helpful pieces of advice you offer, plus the clear writing and positive approach in which you do so.

    As for your post on exercise, I agree completely. Exercise is sadly such a struggle for many, either time-wise or energy-wise, yet the funny thing is that exercise kicks in endorphins, making people feel better for the rest of the day and increasing their energy levels so they have more energy for doing what they need to do.

    Thanks for sharing and nice to meet you 🙂

    Marilyn

    Reply
    • What a lovely comment Marilyn! Thank you for taking the time to share with us. You’re so right about the exercise! We always feel so much better afterwards, and it’s such a release of adrenaline that we tend to carry around with us from our fight or flight being triggered throughout the day. If this adrenaline is not dissipated, it can build up and cause all sorts of problems. Don’t you agree? Thank you for your positive comments about my blog. Look forward to hearing more of your lovely comments! Nice to meet you too :)) x

      Reply
      • So true, Kim! If the adrenaline isn’t released in a healthy way, then it will find an unhealthy outlet. I’ve always been really into exercise (I was a dancer for nine years) and now if I don’t sweat every day, I am grouchy and I feel off balance.

      • Me too 🙂 I suppose we become used to the exercise as easily as we become unused to it. I’m a yoga freak now and if I don’t get at least four yoga classes a week I don’t feel half as good.

  3. Reading this makes me glad that I followed you in the first place! Brilliant 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

